Student Thoughts – BIHS Drama Club

I’ve been a student at the Brooklyn International High School for two years. When I first came to the United States of America, I really wanted to find a place to express my thoughts and feelings. America was a place where I hoped to develop my talents. I also realized that America can be a stressful country, depending on the community that you belong to.

As I am an individual who is introspective and thoughtful, I really wanted to be a part of Drama Club. On my first day, it was really hard for me to understand what was said, although I really wanted to share my thoughts. I didn’t even know how to introduce myself. It was going to be a very horrible experience for me to continue because I always had an internal conflict between what I wanted to realize and the difficulties of going through the activities. At one time I was thinking that would be a waste of time, but I kept on going and I have never been discouraged.

Three months later, I found out that Drama Club was an accepting place. I found my spot here. It’s the only place where I have a chance to relax. I have also had a chance to write my own poem and rap based on how Drama Club has turned me into a different person.

Drama Club has done for me what a psychologist cannot do. Drama Club has taken away all the stress that I had. As an immigrant communicating with others, Drama Club has helped me to improve my English and learn about other cultures. Drama Club is my best experience I have ever had in my whole life.

– Nebajoth Jean, Junior at BIHS and DTE Intern

Leave a Reply

